Spring Ahead

SOLFourteen years ago, daylight savings time was the first weekend in April.  I know this because I was in the hospital in labor waiting my first baby.  We arrived at the hospital at midnight and labor went very quickly.  I didn’t have any drugs so labor was rather intense. I remember looking up at the clock during a contraction and the minute hand spun around the clock quickly.  I thought I was losing my mind it hurt so badly.  It was just the hospital clock “springing ahead.”  My son arrived two hours later.  Isn’t it amazing how our minds blurs that waiting time for us.  I didn’t tell anyone at the time of my worry about the clock spinning.  There are so many crazy worries those first few days.  I think it was later in the week when we arrived home and the clocks were wrong that I realized what I had witnessed and knew it wasn’t just a pain crazed hallucination.

Leave a Reply

